DIY Window Frame Project.

First of all, have you ever checked out Pinterest?  If you haven’t, that must be the first place you click after reading this post! Obsession! It’s an online pinboard site where you can go for inspiration for just about anything you can think of. I have been looking for a way to jazz up some antique window frames we got to use as a set piece in the last play Mr. Best Things directed. They were old, but beautiful. They were dirty and dingy, but I knew they had some life in them. I checked out some cool ideas on Pinterest.

I really liked the idea of using a monochromatic scheme mostly because then if we change our bedding, it will almost always match. I also liked the idea of using words because we’re both artists and we love plays and Shakespeare and all that fun stuff. Plus it looks cool.

I have been obsessed with this headboard for a while. I loved the pop of colour (completely contradicts what I said above.. I know!). It’s so shabby chic. So, I decided, let’s combine the two to make a wicked, large, statement art piece above our existing bed. 

Here is the close up of one of the two frames we have. They are amazingly cracked and chipped. I didn’t have any desire to change the “finish” at all. I also love the brass attachments hanging off. There’s also a neat clasp that maybe once held them closed on the left hand side that I love.

Here’s the pair of them, just asking for some love thrown their way. They’ve been hanging out in our basement for way too long.

I headed out to Michaels Arts and Crafts store and picked up some tissue paper, paper mache glue, foam brushes, and copper Martha Stewart brand multi surface craft paint. I couldn’t find any paper with words, but I liked this one just as much and I think it gives the same idea with the black and white.

I started out by cleaning all the gunk off the frames. This resulted in a pile of tiny wood and paint chips on the carpet of my living room. You’d think I’d never heard of a drop cloth… next time. Then I windexed the window panes and then cleaned them with alcohol, which was recommended by the paint.

Next, I started essentially wallpapering the tissue paper using the paper mache glue and foam brush right side out to the underside of one of the windows. It was a tedious and tricky process which is why there are no photos. I would spread some glue very thinly right onto the underside of the glass, then stick the paper down and spread some more glue onto the back making sure to get it right into the corners and edges. The hardest part came when I tried to match up the piece in the middle when the first page ran out.

After the hour of glueing for the first panel, I decided I liked the way it looked with just the one panel covered. Also, I was too lazy to keep glueing. Originally I was going to cover all four panels. I actually really like the effect it creates with just the one panel done. I also had the idea to cut out some hearts from the left over paper and glue them up in the opposite corner for balance.

After all the glueing efforts, I was feeling a little shaky on my ability to paint the letters on free hand. I dabbed some copper paint on my brush an realized it was a lot more translucent than I expected it to be, which made me feel better. I figured I didn’t have to be as precise with translucent paint. I pretty much just eyeballed the letters and hoped for the best. I tested it out before hand and knew that I could get the paint off with windex if need be. So that helped the nerves a bit.

Here’s the finished product. Literally, a series of happy accidents that make up a pretty much free art piece of my own creation. In all, I spent $20 at the craft store, and I barely used any of the tissue paper, glue, and paint. Plenty more left for future projects.

I love the casual, shabby, artsy effect I’ve managed to create. I think the dimensions are perfect too, for the bed frame, again, a happy accident.
After so many moments of doubt in my ability throughout this process, I am so proud of myself for finishing what I started (including banging several holes in my wall to mount it). And the finished product is not too shabby, if I do say so myself!

Do you enjoy getting crafty?

About Kayla @ Lovely Ride

A professional actor with some crazy dreams of healthy eating, marathon running, photo taking, and yoga posing.

Posted on October 20, 2011, in DIY. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. What a fun project! I’m on pinterst – don’t go on much but when I do, I can spend A LOT of time there!
    i’m hoping to make friends and family reusable sandwich/snack bags for christmas – time to get my craft on and not spend money on expensive gifts!

  2. Yeah, Pinterest can be a real time sink, if you know what I mean. I love it though!

  3. I am a horrible crafter, but I enjoy crafty things. Your project turned out AMAZING!! I adore it!

  4. That is so beautiful, Kayla! You’re so creative!! Great work 😀

What do you think?

