Goodbye Old Friend: Diet Soda.

Diet Coke. Oh Diet Coke. It’s sexy, isn’t it? Or that’s what they want us to think.

My name is Kayla, and I’m a Diet Coke-Aholic.  Or I was. I “gave up” diet coke on my birthday (Oct 27th) in 2011.  I loved the stuff.  I think I still do.  I haven’t gone so far as to have sexy dreams about it or anything, but I’d say at least once a day, I think about having one.   It’s been extra hard around our house because we bought a case of Diet Coke for our mamas to drink at Christmas.  So I have a couple of cans in the fridge; cold, sexy cans calling my name… AH!

So I’ve decided to make it public. I’m off Diet Coke. I’m not going to drink it anytime soon.  I’m not one of those people that can have a sip every now and then and be ok.  I’m just off it.

The thing about Diet Coke, is that it’s just making my problems worse.  I think “ooh, I feel like a sweet treat but I don’t want to consume the calories, I’ll just have a diet pop”.  But the thing is, nothing comes without a price.  People are even starting to test whether diet pop actually makes you GAIN weight. WTF? I can see how this might be true, though.  I makes your sweet tooth activate.  And aspartame is WAY sweeter than regular sugar so you trick yourself into getting all snacky!  Other than weight gain (god forbid, right?!…) there are some serious health side effects that have been studied as well.  Bone loss, tooth enamel damage, and loss of kidney function are just some that I have found while reading around online. (source)  All this negative information should really make me hate the stuff right?  Here’s hoping!

Are you a diet soda addict? Or were you? Any ideas on how I can get over this craving for good?

About Kayla @ Lovely Ride

A professional actor with some crazy dreams of healthy eating, marathon running, photo taking, and yoga posing.

Posted on January 6, 2012, in challenge, diet coke and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. The phosphoric acid in it is SO bad for your teeth and blood PH levels too! Great job…keep it up!

  2. Good job!! I NEVER had a soda issue, ever. I lived with 2 ladies who drank nothing but diet pepsi, I lived in the dorms and had access all the time, I was just never a huge fan. Then all of a sudden a few months ago, I started having CRAVINGS for it. Which was bad because there;s a cafeteria at work.

    I’ve linked my soda cravings to stress, so I bought some of those Zevia sodas and usually have maybe one a week.

    • It’s tough because it’s just around all the time!! And sometimes you just want something that’s NOT water! I think if I really feel like a soda, I’ll just have a regular one once in a while. I think I’d rather have the sugar than the chemicals!

  3. We buy it for my father in law who drinks it and I caved yesterday and had one! I use to drink a lot of it and sometimes I crave the nice cold taste, but overall I think I could quit drinking it and be fine with it. Just found your blog via twitter!

  4. Hey Kayla, I was a TOTAL addict, too. (you can see my post on the subject here: http://beanythingbutquiet.wordpress.com/2011/10/01/food-glorious-food/) It totally sucks getting over it. I started by mixing carbonated water with juice, then downgraded to regular water with chlorophyll (great for cleaning out the liver etc. of all those aspartame toxins) and now I rarely crave it. Fun flavored teas are a great alternative. David’s Tea has become my second home.

What do you think?

