Need some Motivation?

1.Mr. Best Things and I were looking for a way to get motivated about our workouts!  Enter: kindergarten style sticker sheets!  The original idea came from Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point.  But we put our own spin on them…

We have this huge book of printed paper that we used.  I made mine to include the dates and then some specific workouts throughout the week, as well as some wild card workouts.  As you can see, the first sticker I earned was for a dance class I took.  Wild card.. also, couldn’t walk for a WEEK afterwards.  Turns out dance class is the hardest workout of them all.

Wayne decided he just wanted 7 slots.  I tried to convince him that it might make him feel overwhelmed or like he HAD to do 7 workouts to be a good boy, but he wanted it this way.  I added some hearts on the 7th slot and told him if he gets 7 in a week, he’s gotten to seventh heaven!  Ha.

So far, we’ve had a lot of fun adding our stickers and writing down what we’ve done.  And they’re SMACK in the middle of our (HARVEST GOLD) refrigerator, so they’re hard to forget about.

2. I signed up to be an “energy exchanger” at my hot yoga studio.  Basically, I work at the studio for 4 hours a week and, in exchange, get free yoga.  Nothing is more motivating to get your butt to yoga, then thinking about those toilets you cleaned earlier in the week… seriously.  Also, it’s free now, so money isn’t an excuse.

3. Watch the Biggest Loser.  I’m serious.  It’s so motivating to know that if they can do it, so can I.  This season’s “mantra” is NO EXCUSES.  And I like that.  I like to watch while I’m on the treadmill.  It’ll get you running and sprinting when you watch their workouts!

4. Read some articles on the web.  One that really spoke to me recently was one by the winner of Biggest Loser season 11, Olivia.  Find it here.  And of course, check out what some fit bloggers are up to.  If Emily can go for a run AND do a yoga class in one weekend with a tiny baby to look after, then I can workout too!  Or check out the Winter Shapeup over at Fitnessista for some fun inspiration.

5. Do some online window shopping for swimsuits…

Polka dots are my favourite!

Pinterest find! LOVE the drama of this one.

 What’s helping you get motivated during the winter months?  PS- it’s -30 C here right now.  Weather is my excuse right now… I hate winter.

About Kayla @ Lovely Ride

A professional actor with some crazy dreams of healthy eating, marathon running, photo taking, and yoga posing.

Posted on January 16, 2012, in inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

