42nd Street: The Hair

42nd Street was the first show I ever saw on Broadway when I was in high school.  My mom bought me the album after the show.  I used to listen to it and just stare at the girls on the cover.  I loved their hair!  I just loved the way they looked.  I wanted to be just like them.  

Introducing, the finger wave.  I think the finger wave is my favourite part of 1930s style.  It’s soft, feminine, and face framing.  And wearing wigs (which is what we’ll be doing in the show), is so fun when you get to wear a finger waved bob.  It’s so flattering on EVERYONE!  

Here’s a little tutorial on how to do an official finger wave.  They used to wet their hair, apply setting lotion, man handle their hair into the curl shape, then let the hair dry under the dryer or naturally.  This creates a very sharp, “perfect” look.  The more relaxed version of the finger wave still makes an appearance today.  It’s a great vintage look to dress up any outfit!

Here’s an example of a finger wave being used today.  Isn’t that pretty? 

About Kayla @ Lovely Ride

A professional actor with some crazy dreams of healthy eating, marathon running, photo taking, and yoga posing.

Posted on January 30, 2012, in favourite things, inspiration, musical theatre. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

