Things I’ll Never Forget

1. The feeling just before the curtain rose on Opening Night of 42nd Street on the Festival Stage.  Nervous, excited, words cannot describe.  The crowd was with us every moment that night.  I have never felt anything like it.

2. Tap dancing out there with just the four of us in “Go Into Your Dance”.  It was us against the world.  And I’ve never been happier than during that number, night after night.

3. My wig.  It was perfectly different every show.  It had a life of its’ own.  And I loved it.

4. Lorraine Flemming.  The character I played.  The girl I inhabited.  The person I created.  Southern, quirky, dorky, funny, lover of musical theatre.  I love her.

5. Walking out onstage of the Festival Theatre for the first time and taking it in.  Our floor, with the painted stars, raised up, extended, and mic’d just for our taps.  The history, the art, the beauty that has happened in that space is overwhelming.  I am so thankful I got to spend a moment up there, let alone speak words, sing songs, and tap dance my heart out night after night wearing sparkly bikinis and crazy headdresses.

“Somewhere in my youth or childhood, I must’ve done something good” to deserve that extreme honour and pleasure.  It’s been unbelievably hard to see the season end.  In more ways than I ever imagined it would.  But no matter what happens in my life, I have these moments.  These memories, these ultimate dreams fulfilled to sustain me.  Thank you. Whoever you are out there. Thank you.

About Kayla @ Lovely Ride

A professional actor with some crazy dreams of healthy eating, marathon running, photo taking, and yoga posing.

Posted on November 30, 2012, in inspiration. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Beautiful!!!! I wish I could have seen it!
    Cx

What do you think?